Hauerwas on writing

Reading stuff on church and state means reading some Stanley Hauerwas. By way of a tangent, here is a fantastic quote of his on writing from an interview in Third Way

I think that when I’m writing (which is most of my life) I’m never sure I know what I am doing until I do it. But I’ve tried to maintain a high standard in everything I do. The temptation is to think, ‘Oh, I can just dash this off because I’m Stanley Hauerwas,’ but I’ve never giv­en in to that temptation – I hope I’ve never given in to it – because I think that every forward I write, every book review I write, every essay I write, every book I write, has to be the very best I can do.

Somehow I think this might mean that Stanley Hauerwas ain’t going to be joining the blogging world any time soon.

But such serious dedication to a calling is deeply impressive. Colossians 3:17 comes to mind:

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

3 thoughts on “Hauerwas on writing

  1. Kevin – done

    Sean, no excuse – you could always just write a scintillating post every now and again as the inspiration comes.

    And I also liked what he says writing clearly in a way that can be understood. I try to glance through some journals that come into the IBI library, often for book reviews really. There are many articles that are so obscure they are virtually impossible to understand. What use they serve to the church I can’t imagine.

    Maybe it’s just getting older, but Christians need to say what they think clearly – both to other Christians and in engaging with others and not be afraid of difference.

    Hauerwas sure makes his point clear here.

    “I mean, obscurity is thought to be a sign of profundity. That’s just bullshit. I think it’s important to write directly and not to be afraid of assertion. This is proclamation.”

Leave a Reply

